Chairwoman Marcelia Nicholson was unanimously re-elected to lead the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors for the 2022-2024 term on April 18.

During a hybrid session, where some Supervisors attended in-person and others were sworn in virtually, Chairwoman Nicholson thanked her colleagues for their support and expressed optimism about the future.

“I thank my colleagues for giving me the privilege of serving as Chairwoman of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors for another term,” said Chairwoman Nicholson. “As I was raised in the 53206 ZIP code, my values are rooted in Milwaukee County’s vision for becoming the healthiest county in Wisconsin by achieving racial equity. I am proud to be a part of the bright new era we see in Milwaukee’s leadership and will continue leading this body with the guiding principles of racial equity, preparation, collaboration, sustainability, and decorum.”

Chairwoman Nicholson made history in the 2020-2022 term by becoming the first Afro-Latina elected Chairperson of the Board of Supervisors. Her father is African American and her mother is Puerto Rican.

During her first term leading the County Board, Chairwoman Nicholson saw many accomplishments including legislation that committed Milwaukee County to becoming carbon neutral by 2050, phased-out single-use plastics and other non-biodegradable products from Milwaukee County facilities and parks by 2022, created paid internships with the County Board, and made Juneteenth Day a holiday for county employees.

On April 5, Nicholson was elected to a fourth term as County Supervisor, now representing the 10th District, which includes neighborhoods to the east, west, and south of Sherman Park, the neighborhoods surrounding King Park, the Marquette University campus, and portions of downtown and the Third Ward. Chairwoman Nicholson represented the 5th District prior to decennial redistricting.

Nicholson is a former MPS educator and works for the Center for Popular Democracy. She earned her bachelor’s degree and is pursuing a master’s degree in public administration from UW-Milwaukee. She was born and raised in the 53206 ZIP code and is a proud graduate of MPS schools, including Ben Franklin, Morse Middle School, and the Milwaukee School of Languages.

The 18-member Board of Supervisors also elected Supervisor Sequanna Taylor as First Vice Chairperson and Supervisor Steven Shea as Second Vice Chairperson.

© Photo

Lee Matz