Governor Tony Evers signed a bill on November 20 that will end a five-county tax that was instituted in 1996 to pay for construction of Milwaukee’s Miller Park.

About $600 million has been collected the past 23 years to pay for construction and interest costs at the stadium that’s home to the Brewers and opened in 2001. Over the final two decades at County Stadium, the Brewers had a winning percentage of .488. Since the construction of Miller Park, their winning percentage has been .484.

“Today I signed a bipartisan bill sunsetting the stadium tax at Miller Park, and I look forward to continuing to work with the Brewers, folks in Milwaukee, and the local stakeholders to ensure the Brewers’ success for years to come.” – Governor Tony Evers

The 0.1% sales tax has been in effect in Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Washington, Waukesha and Racine counties. The tax was previously projected to end in 2014. Under the new law signed by Governor Evers, the tax must end on August 31.

The estimated $16 million in taxes collected beyond what the stadium district needs to pay off its bonds and satisfied reserve requirements will be redistributed to the five counties for property tax relief, public safety, parks and recreation and economic development.

© Photo

Lee Matz